He sleeps

It used to be that he slept until 6:00 AM.  

 

He could go to bed at 7:00 after a tirade of screaming from emotional overload at daycare and a Happy Meal.  He slept until 6:00 AM.

He could go to bed at 11:00 after being with our friends.  He slept until 6:00 AM.

It never failed…I would wake at 6:00 AM with Matchbox car rolling up and down my arm.  

Keep in mind that I never went to sleep at 7:00 or 11:00 like he did.  I had to shut down the house and turn of the lights and turn off the thoughts in my head which seemed to take forever. 

Now….he goes to bed at 7:00 and he goes to bed at 11:00 still, but he doesn’t get up at 6:00 AM anymore.  No more Matchbox cars on my arm as they have been donated to neighborhood boys.  I don’t hear any more “Mama – are you up (17,000,000 times)”.

I now stick my head in his room beginning at 7:00 AM to see if he is up…until noon.  

This is summer people, let the child sleep. 

Will he grow in height this summer to become as tall as his classmates?

Will his heart be broken at 13?  (Was mine?)

While I’m away on a trip with girls this weekend will he wake up at 6:00 AM with a Matchbox car in his hand and look for my arm to play?

Wow – that is sad…..  I am a mom and these conflicts happen in my heart every waking moment.  

I hope that he battles with these thoughts when he becomes a dad as his wife will love him all the more for it. 

 

Leave a Reply

