Friends (not a very jolly post)

We had a friend over for dinner.   He is in a tough spot (*) and invited himself… 

I made chicken spaghetti so we had a ton to eat and a great time. 

I am upstairs listening to him laugh hysterically with my son while playing video games.  He is 35 and my child is 13.  

He loves him – and when I say that I refer to each of them. 

And we – my husband and I – love both of them more than we can say.  

One of them we have carried through hard times and the other, well the hard times have yet to come, really.  

All I can say is that I am blessed beyond all belief that I have introduced my child to a man that will be a best friend and sounding wall when the chips are down.  

These are the times when I feel like all of the stars have aligned when it comes to raising a child.  

I type this with tears in my eyes and a smile in my heart.

(*) Lost his mom and got divorced from the woman he loves within 6 months of each other.  I have never seen a man grieve so much in my life and the tears that still dampen my shoulder make me feel like a better person for being there for him.

Leave a Reply

